Picture
I've been wanting to talk about positive self talk for a while, but have had a hard time diving into the subject. After all, it's a very personal thing!
I'd like to share two exercises that I do on a daily basis to try and keep the positive vibes flowing inward. Continue after the jump...

 1. Push out those nasty, negative thoughts! Think of a word that's going to trigger them going away. I literally say to myself, "Out!" when I feel an unloving thought about myself creeping in. If I realize that I've begun a dialogue in my head along the lines of "I hate my thighs, my life sucks, everything is hard," I become aware of it, give it a big OUT! then readjust my thinking. Instead of "I hate my thighs," I think "my thighs are powerful and they get me where I need to go. Thank you God for these thighs that get me from point A to point B!" Do I feel cheesy? Yes! But does it work? Again, yes! So, that's my daytime trick.
When night comes, a lot of us find an onslaught of thoughts swimming through our sleepy little heads. Some of them aren't so nice. This is a perfect time to practice your I AM affirmations. It's quite easy: Start with I AM....then fill in the blank. KEEP IT POSITIVE. These also don't have to be true RIGHT THIS MINUTE. Wayne Dyer was talking about this, and he gave a great example: If you're an alcoholic struggling with addiction, your affirmation would be "I am sober." Maybe it's just something that you wish to be, but you state that wish with all your heart and it will happen. (Fake it till ya make it, folks!)

As I lay down tonight, my thoughts may go something like this:
I am smart.
I am loveable.
I am strong in mind, body, and spirit.
I am an athlete.
I am a healthy eater.
You get the idea....basically, you can be whatever you want-and I promise, you'll feel a little bit warm and fuzzier after some positive self-talk!
I know this was brief, but I wanted to introduce the topic. I'll get into it a little deeper sometime down the road:)

I would love for y'all to try this, and hear how/if it helps you! 

Always remember this tip: if you wouldn't say it to your b



Leave a Reply.